English language Web site on current affairs in the biggest russian region
12:16 | Jul 30 | 2014

Integrated Development of Arctic in Yakutia

 The Cabinet of Yakutia July 31 will consider a draft of the Republican Complex Program of socioeconomic development of the Arctic and northern areas for 2014-2017 and for the period up to 2020. This program includes 13 regions of the Republic.

The state program was developed pursuant to the Decree of Yegor Borisov "On Declaring 2014 the Year of the Arctic in the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) " in order to achieve an optimal balance of branch structure and spatial organization of the economy, and is analytical in nature and includes actions of sectoral program in the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation.

The program covers thirteen Arctic and northern regions of the Republic: Abyisky, Allaikhovsky, Anabarsky, Bulunsky, Verkhoyansky, Verkhnekolymskiy, Zhigansky, Momsky, Nizhnekolymsky, Oleneksky, Srednekolymsky, Ust-Yansky and Even-Bytantai.

The document is based on the transition from the policy of optimization to the strategy of creating comfortable living conditions of the population.

The Program activities relate to the development of traditional industries of the North and creation of processing industries on their basis, introduction of new technologies for construction, communications, utilities and transport infrastructure, the infrastructure of the Northern Sea Route and the development of major mineral deposits.

In this case the economic development will be based on the reproduction and scaling up mineral resource base, the maximum nature conservation, creation of conditions for the sustenance and satisfaction of social and cultural needs of the population, preservation of original habitat, traditional lifestyle and cultural values ​​of indigenous peoples of the North, reports Mass media Department of the Administration of the Head of Yakutia and the Government.